Friday, August 19, 2016


A benefit CD was released in the UK today featuring a sampling of live from tracks from this year's Glastonbury festival.  Among the live tracks is Showdown by Jeff Lynne's ELO.  CD and digital download is available from the Glastonbury festival site and Amazon.  CD's can also be purchased at Tesco stores.

Tuesday, August 16, 2016


ELO are back to #1 for the mid-week and are currently in a dramatic Olympic-style dash to stay #1 at the end of the week.  Only 500 unit sales separate #1 from #5.

And, as it turns out, it's not just ELO faring well lately.  Cherry Red Records released their second quarter 2016 best sellers list.  The Machine Stops by Hawkwind is #1.  But taking up the rest of the top 5??  The Move!

The 3CD debut was #2, Shazam 2CD Expanded Edition was #3, Something Else was #4, and Looking On 2CD Expanded Edition was #5.

Friday, July 29, 2016


The Official Charts for the week of July 29-August 4 are out, and for the first time in 35 years, ELO tops the album chart.  All Over The World: The Very Best of Electric Light Orchestra, which was originally released in 2005, is now #1 on the UK Official Top 100 Albums Chart.  It's the band's third #1 album behind Discovery and Time.  

Saturday, July 23, 2016


As it turns out, Music On Vinyl is re-issuing all of the pre-EMI albums from The Move.  Their original debut mono LP was just released on Friday 22 July 2016.

and now Shazam is now set for release 15 August 2016... 

...followed by Looking On 12 September 2016.

Wednesday, July 6, 2016


The UK Official Charts week ending July 7, 2016:

All Over The World: The Very Best of Electric Light Orchestra 

#3 in Top 100 overall behind only Adele and Coldplay.  Highest chart position yet.

Official Music Video Chart - Three ELO titles in the Top 50.

Live in Hyde Park is #2
Live at Wembley is #26
Live - The Early Years re-enters at #45


Bryan Adams' official music video for the Jeff Lynne-produced Don't Even Try.

Wednesday, June 22, 2016


Amazon has more details filled in on the upcoming Beatles and World War II set formerly known as All This and World War II.  In addition to this being a re-edit of the original film, it appears Jeff Lynne's contribution is now two separate pieces, on CD at least, The Bee Gees had a track thrown out, Ambrosia's track and both of Roy Wood's tracks all tossed.

From Amazon:
Documentary about the Second World War that combines archive footage with music from The Beatles. Artists including Tina Turner, Elton John, Status Quo and The Bee Gees perform a number of Beatles' hits including 'Help!', 'With a Little Help from My Friends', 'Hey Jude' and 'Yesterday'.
Disc 1 (DVD)
1. Greensleeves arr. Vaughan Williams 1:30.
2. The Fool on the Hill Helen Reddy 2:55
3. Yesterday David Essex 2:15
4. The Long and Winding Road" Leo Sayer 4:00
5. I Am the Walrus Leo Sayer 0:40
6. Come Together Tina Turner 2:10
7. Shostakovich 11th Symphony 1:40
8. I Am the Walrus - Leo Sayer - 2:00
9. Maxwell's Silver Hammer Frankie Laine 3:17
10 .She's Leaving Home Bryan Ferry 0:45
11. Let It Be Leo Sayer 1:50
12. Getting Better Status Quo 1:30
13. Help! Henry Gross 1:50
14. Nowhere Man Jeff Lynne 3:00
15. With a Little Help from My Friends Jeff Lynne 01:20
16. 'Army Air Corps' song - Robert MacArthur Crawford - 0:53
17. Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds Elton John 3:39
18. She Came In Through the Bathroom Window - Bee Gees 0:06
19. With a Little Help from My Friends Jeff Lynne 01:00
20. Because - Lynsey de Paul 0:55
21. Get Back - Rod Stewart 01:00
22. Nowhere Man - Jeff Lynne 0:23
23. We Can Work It Out - The Four Seasons 0:10
24. 'Oche Nash' from St John Chrysostom Liturgy, Rachmaninoff 04:30
25. Shostakovich 11th Symphony 02:45
26. A Day In The Life - Frankie Valli 03:55
27. Michelle - Richard Cocciante 03:55
28. The Long and Winding Road" Leo Sayer 1:49
29. Victory March - Sousa 0:20
30. The End - Will Malone 0:05
31. When I'm Sixty-Four Keith Moon 0:30
32. Golden Slumbers The Bee Gees 1:20
33. Strawberry Fields Forever - Peter Gabriel 1:40
34. Hey Jude The Brothers Johnson 1:30
35. Shostakovich 4th Symphony 06:35
36. Fool on the Hill - John Williams (arr. Brouwer) 2:24 
Disc 2 (CD 1)
1. The Fool on The Hill - Helen Reddy
2. Yesterday - David Essex
3. The Long & Winding Road - Leo Sayer
4. I Am The Walrus - Leo Sayer
5. Come Together - Tina Turner
6. Maxwell's Silver Hammer - Frankie Laine
7. She's Leaving Home - Bryan Ferry
8. Let It Be - Leo Sayer
9. Getting Better - Status Quo
10. Help! - Henry Gross
11. Nowhere Man - Jeff Lynne
12. Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds - Elton John  
Disc 3 (CD 2)
1. With A Little Help From My Friends - Jeff Lynne
2. Because - Lynsey De Paul
3. Get Back - Rod Stewart
4. We Can Work It Out - Four Seasons
5. A Day In The Life - Frankie Valli
6. Michelle - Richard Cocciante
7. When I'm Sixty Four - Keith Moon
8. Golden Slumbers/Carry That Weight - The Bee Gees
9. Strawberry Fields - Peter Gabriel
10. Hey Jude - The Brothers Johnson
11. Lennon speaks
12. The Fool on the Hill - John Williams

Release date for the UK: 29 July 2016


With Glastonbury weekend upon us, turns out there's been more to celebrate as of recent: some YouTube stats.

While Ain't It A Drag has yet to gain some real traction, not the case for When I Was A Boy.

The Warren Fu-directed video passed a million views in recent weeks and is now approaching 1.1 million.

"Official audio"
When I Was A Boy - also nearing 1.1 million views
When The Night Comes -  350,000+
One Step At A Time - 405,000

And Bryan Adams' video for the Jeff Lynne-produced You Belong To Me topped 3 million views this week.

Sunday, June 19, 2016


Before Jeff Lynne's ELO takes the stage at Glastonbury 2016, Jeff Lynne will be the guest on The First Time With... on BBC Radio 6 -- Sunday 26 June 2016 at 13:00 local time.

Saturday, June 11, 2016


Friday Music is reissuing Ringo Starr's 1992 album Time Take Time on 180g translucent green vinyl LP.  Jeff Lynne produced Don't Go Where The Road Don't Go and After All These Years for this album.

Release date: 1 July 2016

Friday, June 10, 2016


In addition to today's release of All Over The World on 2LPs and the 5CD Studio Albums box, the All Over The World original CD is now housed in a new slipcase.

Wednesday, June 8, 2016

Tuesday, June 7, 2016


The Jeff Lynne's ELO set at Glastonbury 2016 will air on BBC Two with highlights airing later on BBC Four.

From an article on the festival's coverage plans:
BBC Music’s director Bob Shennan has shared his excitement ahead of the festival, stating: “Glastonbury promises to be a magical weekend, especially this year with so many homegrown performers including Jeff Lynne, Adele, Muse and Coldplay.
Glastonbury 2016 begins 22 June through 26 June 2016 with Jeff Lynne's ELO taking the stage Sunday 26 June at 16:00-17:15.


Although there's practically nothing new from the Wilburys 2007 set on the new re-issue, they have done a complete overhaul of The Traveling Wilburys website - including some new items in their official store.

Friday, June 3, 2016


Back in the stores and online today: The Traveling Wilburys Collection this time by Concord Music Group. The songs can also be streamed by most popular music streaming services now and all main titles are available as full-blast 196kHz/24bit high-resolution downloads 'Remastered 2016.'

But note, the bonus tracks that were tacked on the ends of Volume One and Volume 3 are now only available on the Traveling Wilburys Collection set.

Tuesday, May 31, 2016


Adding to the summer of new vinyl will be The Move's debut 1968 mono LP.  This fresh pressing will be on heavyweight 180g vinyl from Music On Vinyl.  Release date for the UK: 22 July 2016.

Thursday, May 19, 2016