Tuesday, August 21, 2012


An article at CDJournal.com is shedding a little more light on the upcoming Japanese SHM-CD versions of Long Wave and Mr. Blue Sky: The Very Best of Electric Light Orchestra.  So far, it looks like these releases will follow the same path that Zoom did in 2001.

It appears Long Wave will contain a bonus track titled Jody.  Mr. Blue Sky will contain the bonus track Twilight.  It is listed as a live version in this article.  We'll see if that holds true...

It also appears that Japan will be the first in the world with these releases.  They are still set for a 26 September 2012 release - almost 2 weeks before everyone else.

Long Wave (Japanese SHM-CD) track list -
1. She
2. If I Loved You
3. So Sad
4. Mercy, Mercy
5. Running Scared
6. Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered
7. Smile
8. At Last
9. Love Is A Many Splendored Thing
10. Let It Rock
11. Beyond The Sea
12. Jody

Mr. Blue Sky (Japanese SHM-CD) track list -
1. Mr. Blue Sky
2. Evil Woman
3. Strange Magic
4. Don't Bring Me Down
5. Turn To Stone
6. Showdown
7. Telephone Line
8. Livin' Thing
9. Do Ya
10. Can't Get It Out Of My Head
11. 10538 Overture
12. The Point Of No Return
13. Twilight

It's been three weeks since the announcement.  So far, there is no suggestion of a deluxe release of any kind in the USA (or anywhere else for that matter) - and no clips or tracks have been streaming or made available to buy yet.


Chippa said...

You must be listening to a lot of Echo and The Bunnymen today. New Wave?

rob10538 said...

Julie don't live here...sorry, jodie

Jerry said...

Ugh, I keep doing that... one I get a certain phrase in my head, it sticks. Sorry, guys...

Anonymous said...

Jodie is another cover, this time of an original Del Shannon song called "Jody" and Twilight (live) was a pre-show soundcheck of sorts from before The Zoom Tour Live concerts.

Anonymous said...

Thanks very much for the info of these extra songs. I ordered both CD & Vynils from amazon.de, but today I´ve cancelled the "normal" CDs in my order. Instead of these I have ordered the extended japanese editions from cduniverse.co.jp, for 2762 YENs x 2, plus 700 YENS shipping, giving a total of 6224 YENS = 77,55 USD. At least I have saved the money of the regular editions so I must thank you....Jesus

Jerry said...

I'm not so sure about Twilight being a live/soundcheck version. Why would he put it there instead of the live set that's coming next year? The Greatest Hits Live set supposedly contains soundchecks of Twilight, Confusion and one other track in addition to all of the performances from the Zoom Tour shows in LA.

Makes more sense to me that this is a newly-recorded version to fit the theme of the album. Again, time will tell.

Anonymous said...

Then why would it say live?!

Jerry said...

Why would the live soundcheck version of Twilight appear on an album of studio remakes when there's a live CD set slated for next year?

Anonymous said...

They said live for a reason, you don't know everything Jerry, although ya think so, it's because they already had enough bonus tracks for that particular release and saved this 1 for Japan, you'll see, it'll be on there, book it!


Last tuesday I listen "Smile" & "Strange Magic". Really beautiful songs... I can't wait for those albums!!! LDM.

Jerry said...

Indeed Twilight is the live version.


rob10538 said...

Having heard the clip of Jody I wish it had been included on all releases. :-(